Weekend Baking

image

For Christmas this year I received a copy of the Smitten Kitchen cookbook.  I love the pictures and more importantly the author’s voice.  I’ve made a few of the salads but the recipe for Pancetta, White Bean and Chard Pot Pie was calling to me this last weekend.

I made a few minor substitutions.  First, we had extra shredded chicken so I decreased the beans by half and added the chicken.  Second, I didn’t have adorable- little-individual-portion-oven-proof bowls, so I baked it as a casserole. And the verdict . . .  SUCCESS!  This recipe is insanely delicious (which probably has a lot to do with the two sticks of butter).  The top is flaky and buttery and the filling is delicious as a stew.  The leftovers were even better the next day.

One thought on “Weekend Baking

Leave a Reply

