2013 Reading List – Children Playing Before a Statute of Hercules

 

By David Sedaris

Two things I wasn’t prepared for on reading this book: 1) I expected all of the stories to be humorous, they’re not, and 2) not all of the stories are modern pieces, which is fine.

I really enjoyed this collection; however, some of the stories are really really sad.  About two thirds of the way into the collection the stories start getting sad and then they get sadder and then I started crying.  Two different pieces made me cry.  Which is probably a good thing, I don’t remember the last time a book made me cry.  All in all I think there were only 2 or 3 stories I didn’t care for but on the whole I found the book really enjoyable.

Leave a Reply

