2012 Reading List

The Passage by Justin Cronin

I’m still going strong with my 2012 reading goal and just finished up The Passage (which should really count as two books since it comes in at almost 750 pages).  Somewhere along the way I discovered that I really like books that are: 1) Set in some sort of post-apocalyptic waste land; 2) Survival stories; 3) Include zombies (or in this case vampires).  A book doesn’t need to include all three but if it does I’m hooked, and this book had all three.  I really didn’t like the ending of this book at all and felt like it was a huge let down – I had committed to 700+ pages and I deserved a decent ending.  Then I learned that the book is actually part of a trilogy and the crappy ending was magically transformed into a cliff hanger!

4 thoughts on “2012 Reading List

  1. This reminds me of how somewhere along the line I realized I love music that crescendos and serial anything plot lines on shows Law & Order. It’s weird how you make those realizations. This book sounds interesting, but I’ve read so many trilogies this year!! I’m going to wait for your final report before committing. : )

      • I read Book 1 of The Hunger Games and loved it and I have the 2nd book waiting. I’m finishing up the 3rd & final book of The Fifty Shades of Grey trilogy. Secretly, I kind of loved it, too. They are not super well written, but they’re a fun and compelling enough read. I’ve also spread them around my work like wildfire and now a bunch of us are reading/talking about them all the time. They all say the same thing. Not literature by any means, but fun. Plus…Christian Grey is hot. : )

Leave a Reply

