Birthday Cake

imageI made a cake last weekend for Nick’s birthday.  When I was at the store buying ingredients I called home to see if we had any cake pans.

Me: Do we have any cake pans?

Nick: I don’t think so.

Me: Could you look?

Nick: Where?

Me: In the drawer under the stove?

Nick: I don’t see any?

Me: Are you sure?

Nick: Yes.  We have no cake pans.

I picked up two at the store and come home to find – 5 cake pans!!!  So now I could make a 14 layer cake if I was so inclined.

image

I found this recipe from Martha Stewart for a Chocolate Cake with Malted Chocolate Ganache and Toasted Marshmallow Frosting. The toasted marshmallow seemed like to much work so it got the axe and the ganache got doubled.  Plus who doesn’t like extra ganache?  The ganache was delicious and oh so easy to make.  However, I did have a hard time finding malted milk.  I tried a number of different grocery stores and even made phone calls but the only thing I could find was barely malt and Oveltine (which was not going to happen).  I settled on the Barley Malt and it imparted a slight malty taste but not like I had hoped for and it also became a sticky mess whenever it came in contact with liquid.

I cut both cakes in half to make four layers and the end result was a deliciously dense chocolate cake that I would make again.

3 thoughts on “Birthday Cake

  1. hahaha that is funny, that sounds like something that would happen to me (with the cake pans)! My hubby’s bd is this weekend, and I have been wondering what kind of cake to make him… this one sounds so good!

  2. Your mistake was asking a man to look. Lol…that’s what A.P. does when I ask him to look for something. He doesn’t find it, swears on a stack of Bibles it doesn’t exist, and then I go and find it. Beautiful cake, though! I love the little flags!

Leave a Reply

