Purple Scarf

Three years ago my grandfather passed away.  At the time my grandmother, 87, was too ill to hold a memorial for him.  Fast forward three years and two hip replacement surgeries later and my grandmother at 90 is healthier then ever.  This last summer with my grandmother’s health improved we finally held a family memorial for my grandfather in the California Redwoods.

Because the memorial was so far from the death I actually enjoyed the weekend with my family.  We saw interesting sites, had great food, and stayed in the sort of hotels that I can only dream of one day frequenting.  On the last morning we had breakfast in Half Moon Bay and as we walked through the town I spotted a yarn store.  Inside I found the most beautiful wool I had ever seen.  Made by Manos del Uruguay it is hand spun and kettle-dyed fading with colors ranging from the darkest purple to almost white.

It took me awhile to figure out what I wanted to do with the yarn.  I knew I wanted a scarf that was pretty simple and would showcase the dye.  In the end I settled on a simple knit, purl, knit, purl that turned out perfect.  It’s fairly thin, only 5 or 6 inches wide, but almost six feet long.  I can wrap it in dramatic loops around my neck and still have extra for the ends.  But more importantly it has the added benefit of whenever I wear it I tend to think of my grandfather and the weekend my family spent in the Redwoods.

One thought on “Purple Scarf

  1. I love this! I love the scarf and the story behind it. I also love the idea of having a memorial a long time after the death. Though you didn’t plan it that way, it sounds like it was nicer than a funeral, which is so steeped in sadness. I wish this was the tradition instead. It sounds like a great opportunity to remember someone fondly and share that with those that you love. : )

Leave a Reply

